Tudor House Margate
*The House is closed until further notice due to National Lockdown*
The oldest building in old Meergate, the old Tudor House, built in 1525, was originally a yeoman farmer's house. It is a unique example of a ‘transitional house’ – bridging the gap between medieval open-hall and early-modern houses with two storeys throughout. The building was clearly of high status with distinctive features.
Over the years, the building has been home to Master Mariners, Flemish weavers, Cordwainers, and farmers. A 1776 map shows a sizable farmyard surrounding the dwelling; including a malthouse which still exists to the rear.
The remaining site was purchased by the local council in the late 1930s as part of a slum clearance scheme, and it was due for demolition before a local builder spotted the Tudor beams and alerted the Mayor, Alderman Cllr Claude Hosking. He funded the restoration, which was completed in 1951, using mostly Tudor construction methods and materials. The House was Grade 2* listed in the same year.
The Gardens have been lovingly restored with a Tudor Knot garden and box hedge squares with climbing plants on frames.
The House is a Grade 2* Listed Building and cannot be adapted for accessibility. There is an accessible ground floor entrance, and wheelchair access to the ground floor of the building. Volunteers are available to provide assistance. The first floor is only accessible via a narrow spiral staircase. The nearest accessible parking and toilets are at College Square (CT9 1PR), approximately 200 metres from the House. Assistance dogs welcome. Rest chairs provided.
Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday, & Bank Holidays 11.30am-2.30pm
Guide Dogs, Hearing Dogs and Registered Assistance Dogs welcome
Children: Under 16s Free (accompanied by adult)
Joint Ticket with Margate Museum: £3, Concession £2.50