Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. See and Do
  3. Search for Things to Do
  4. St Peter's Village Tour
st-peter-s-village-tour-l-.-credit-thanet-tourism.jpg

St Peter's Village Tour

Active and Outdoors
Heritage and Gardens
Heritage and Gardens

Attend our flagship award-winning Village Tour and meet many costumed characters from past centuries along with some surprises on the way!

During the tour, you'll see the flint-built St Peter's Church and find out more about its long history. Hear about conditions in the workhouse, the Newbolts' breakfast concerts for hundreds of fashionable people, the tower used in the Napoleonic wars, famous (and infamous) local residents, and our ancient seat of local government for the area.

Tours are conducted in English for a maximum of 5 groups of 10 visitors, and cover less than a mile of flat walking, but do involve standing for a number of 5-minute presentations. They include a break for tea or coffee (except for evening, or inclement weather tours). Allow two and a half hours for the tour. Booking essential with suggested £4pp donation. 

During wet weather, tours takes place entirely within the Church. Children are welcome on the tours, but we suggest that ages 10 and above will more fully appreciate the experience.

Access for visitors with disabilities.

Light lunches and cream teas can be made available after the tour in the Red Lion, opposite the Church, by calling Kim on 01843 600895.

2022 Tours
Thursday 12th May at 9.45am
Thursday 19th May at 9.45am
Thursday 26th May at 1.30pm
Tuesday 31st May at 9.45am
Thursday 9th June at 1.30pm
Thursday 16th June at 1.30pm
Thursday 23rd June at 1.30pm
Thursday 30th June at 9.45am
Thursday 7th July at 9.45am
Thursday 14th July at 1.30pm
Thursday 21st July at 1.30pm
Thursday 28th July at 9.45am
Thursday 4th August at 9.45am
Thursday 11th August at 1.30pm
Thursday 18th August at 1.30pm
Thursday 25th August at 1.30pm
Thursday 1st September at 9.45am
Saturday 3rd September at 9.45am
Thursday 8th September at 1.30pm
Thursday 15th September at 1.30pm

Address

St Peter's Church
Hopeville Avenue

Broadstairs

Kent

CT10 2TR

Coaches welcome
Groups welcome
Guide Dogs, Hearing Dogs and Registered Assistance Dogs welcome
Guided tours
Pets welcome
TDC 3 towns logo (High Res ).JPG
Contact Us
Visitor Information Centre
The Droit House
Stone Pier
Margate
Kent CT9 1JD
Te: 01843 577577
Email: visitorinformation@thanet.gov.uk
www.visitthanetbusiness.co.uk
Official website of Visit Thanet, Thanet District Council.