* Currently closed due to National Lockdown *
Discover Margate's only working Smock Mill!
Drapers Windmill is a 19th Century Kentish Smock Mill, built in 1845 by master millwright John Holman of Canterbury. It is a four-storey smock mill on a single-storey brick base.
The Mill was worked solely by wind until 1916, then by a gas engine until the late 1930s, with the sweeps and fantail being removed in 1927. Threatened with demolition in 1965, the Drapers Windmill Trust was formed with the purpose of preserving the Mill for the future, and in 1968 the Kent Education Committee acquired the Mill, and restored it.
The Mill is now in the care of Kent County Council, fully supported by the Drapers Windmill Trust, who are responsible for the day-to-day running and restoration of the Mill, with larger projects financed by KCC.
There are free guided tours to explain the history and workings of the Mill.
There are six easy steps at the entrance to the windmill. There is a CCTV monitor display and history film at the ground floor level, for those unable to climb the steep stairs to the upper floors.
Toilet available; although the door is wide enough to accommodate a wheelchair, the facilities themselves are currently not fully accessible. KCC and the Trust are working to improve this.
*Please visit website for up to date opening times*
Admission is free, but donations towards the upkeep of the windmill are gratefully received