St George’s Church
Returning to her homeland from a visit to England and the Royal court, dying Pocahontas was brought ashore at Gravesend and buried in the chancel of St George's. Her statue, unveiled in 1958 by the Governor of Virginia, can be seen in the churchyard. Visitors can also admire the beautiful glass windows, two of them were given as a present from the Colonial Dames of Virginia.
The first reference to a church on the present site dates as long ago as the Court Roll of 1475-78, where King Edward IV was petitioned to build what was to be a parish church. A Royal Manor, which stood in the vicinity, with its own chapel, may have led to this choice of location.
St. George's Church (built as a Chapel-of-Ease) was licensed for worship in 1497. It replaced the fire damaged St. Mary's as parish church in 1544. St. George's was later also consumed by fire on 24th August 1727. The current church was built in 1731 by the Architect Sloane.
St George's is a lovely and well used church with wonderful acoustics and hosts a series of local music concerts throughout the year.
Guide Dogs, Hearing Dogs and Registered Assistance Dogs welcome