Tudor House Margate
The oldest building in old Meergate, the old Tudor House, built in 1525, is a unique example of of a ‘transitional house’ – bridging the gap between the medieval open-hall and early-modern houses with two storeys throughout. The building was clearly of high status with distinctly ‘showy’ features. Many of these were advanced for its time, including glazed windows and two chimneys at a time when one would have been noteworthy.
Over the years, the building has been home to Master Mariners, Flemish weavers, Cordwainers, and farmers. A 1776 map shows a sizable farmyard surrounding the dwelling; including a malthouse which still exists to the rear. In the 18th Century, a maltings was built at the rear to make Barley Beer. Between the late 17th and 19th centuries, much of the land belonging to the house was sold off, and the building itself had been subdivided into 3 cottages by 1867.
The remaining site was purchased by the council in the late 1930s as part of a slum clearance scheme, and it was due for demolition before a local builder spotted the Tudor beams and alerted the Mayor, Alderman Cllr Claude Hosking. He funded the restoration, but died before this was completed. A fund in his name was started by the people of the Borough, which paid for the completion. The Gardens have since been lovingly restored with a Tudor Knot garden and box hedge squares with climbing plants on frames.
Guided Tours are offered to visitors.
Children: Under 16s Free (accompanied by adult)