St Mildred's Church - Tenterden

We are three churches, serving the people of Tenterden, St Michael's and Smallhythe. St Mildred’s is a stunning medieval church whose imposing tower dominates the town's skyline. Most of the building dates back to the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. St Michael and All Angels is of Victorian construction. It was consecrated in 1863. The spire makes it a conspicuous landmark. St John the Baptist is a lovely Tudor church. It was built in 1516-17 to replace the chapel which stood on the same site and which was destroyed by fire in 1514. We welcome visitors and tourists to all three churches. Each one is home to a loving, caring, worshipping Christian community.

A major project is underway to transform St Mildred's into a place that will respect traditional worship and release the contemporary; into a place that will meet the needs of the twenty-first century; into a place in which the whole life of the community can be celebrated; into a place which will express the rich history of Tenterden; into a place which will be at the heart of the community, with the community at its heart.

The interior of St Mildred’s is the largest indoor space at the heart of the town. The completion of the first phase of the transformation project now enables us to welcome the local community to St Mildred’s more conveniently and effectively, and offer a hospitable building with flexible seating, in which we are able to host exhibitions, concerts and other events.

Opening Times

Open daily from 9am until 4pm

Address

The Vicarage,
Church Road,
Tenterden,
Kent
TN30 6AT